The Power of a Name

“Your name is what? No…seriously? What does it mean?”

Such is the questioning when I initially tell people, when asked, what my middle name is. It is Himm. That’s right, him with two m’s. Yes, I know…it’s different.

I didn’t always know this was my middle name. I grew up thinking it was Howard, of all things. Turns out my mother didn’t like the name Himm, as it reminded her too much of my father, who I was named after (actually, I am the third generation to have the same name; my grandfather was the first). My mother and father split after the birth of my younger brother, so she didn’t want a constant reminder of the man no longer in her life, I guess (but, going with that, I still had the name James, right? Wouldn’t that still be a reminder?), so she unofficially changed my name.

Fast forward to my teen years. I had to get a copy of my birth certificate for something. So, it was then, much to my surprise, that I discovered my actual middle name. There was something that was different, unique about it. I ditched Howard in a heartbeat, quickly embracing this long lost part of myself.

But people wanted to know what it meant, what was its history. And I didn’t have any answers for them, but more importantly, for myself. So, I tried to find out for myself. Now, I know some of you must be thinking the easy thing would have been to ask my Dad, right? Wrong. He wasn’t in the picture, and I would first have to find him to ask him. So I did want any intrepid person does these days when searching for information: I googled it. The most interesting result was that the name has a meaning in Japanese; it is a martial arts term that means “strength, power, force, and upper level.” So that was what I would tell people who would ask about the name.

I started in the metaphysical field as a dream interpreter. I then became a Tarot reader and consultant. I started a business, Dreams and Visions, interpreting dreams and reading the Tarot professionally. Most recently, I added being a Reiki Practitioner to the list. Reiki, for those unfamiliar, is a Japanese energy healing system that is applied hands-on. The benefits from receiving Reiki can be relaxation, stress reduction, and in some cases, relief from physical pain and discomfort. I started another business venture, The Reiki Treatment, that was based solely around Reiki treatment sessions.

My Reiki Teacher recently suggested I come up with a name for a business that combines all these modalities under one umbrella. She suggested the commonality of symbols in the work, and that I am a symbologist. It made sense. Dreams are loaded with symbolism, as is the Tarot. When studying Reiki, there are symbols in the system that a student is taught. In my case, symbols would appear when I was giving Reiki to clients, and I kept a catalog of them, how they looked, and what the symbol would represent.

She encouraged me to start by finding out what the Hebrew word for symbol was. I did. Guess what? Two letters long. That’s it. The word? Ot (pronounced “oat”). When I brought this information to my teacher, she said, “Well, that just won’t do. It will have to be something else.”

I decided to let the idea go. One day, I’m in my car, driving, when information is instantly downloaded into me, which I knew was an intuitive moment, so I needed to pay attention (and yes, I was still paying attention to the road!). I was shown this wonderful middle name of mine in large capital letters. Then it unfolded like an acronym: Healing with Intuitive Metaphysical Modalities. H-I-M-M. How perfectly cool is that? We live in a day and age, from a business perspective, that personal branding is where it’s at. Having your name incorporated into your business can’t be any more personal!

I tell this story to illustrate the power of a name. And since Himm does translate to “power” from the Japanese, all the better.

This blog, life of HIMM, will be about myself and my business. I will explore things relating to dreams, Tarot, and Reiki here. I will share my own experiences and perspectives here. I may interpret my own dreams and conduct my own Tarot readings here, too. I will share my experiences with the Universal Life Energy, known as Reiki, as it becomes a larger part of my daily existence. One of the things that has happened as a result of Reiki in my life, is an increased Japanese sensibility. And it all started with a name. My name.

I look forward to you reading and commenting in the future.

Love and light,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, Lenormand, and Angel cards), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

