the HIMM Dream Journal: The Parking Lot

Hello, Everyone!

This is another installment of the HIMM dream journal. This is a recent dream I had (just this week, actually), and I wanted to share its simplicity with you, in terms of getting its point across.

First, a little background to set things up. I woke from this dream not really remembering it. I knew I had been dreaming when the alarm went off, but I couldn’t remember the specifics. While getting ready for the day, a fragment came to me:

Dream Title: The Parking Lot

I am driving a car. It seems to be night-time. I pull into a parking lot, and begin to look for a space to park the car. I find a space and pull into it. I park the car. I don’t like the space. I pull back out, and look for another space. I find a space I like better, and I pull into this new space.

I couldn’t remember any more than that. Even though I felt this was a piece of a larger dream, it was enough for me to work with, to get something out of it.

In my mind, I started with my process. I thought about the symbol of the parking lot. As the location of the dream, it serves as the subject matter. The parking lot symbolizes the choice of roles and attitudes we take on in life, since we choose the spaces we park our cars. And speaking of cars, a car in a dream can suggest a few things. First, as a mode of travel, it can indicate an approach to life. It can also suggest career, as “car” is a root of the word. Besides, one has to have a certain amount of “drive” to succeed at work. On a spiritual note, a car can suggest karma; again, this being the root of the word. Karma, simply put, is the path chosen to learn life lessons through physical experiences. It is this path that most people are familiar with (and most people choose to take), as it is an easier path than dharma (which will be further explained in a future post, I’m sure, when it presents itself in a dream). This path comes with incurring and paying off karmic debts.  And, finally, a car can represent the physical body.

It is with the physical body meaning of the car that I went with in working through the possible interpretation in my head. I did what I refer to as the role-playing technique. This technique allows the dreamer (in this case, me) to assume the role of another character or object in the dream, and tell the dream from that perspective. This goes hand-in-hand with the dream rule that everything is an aspect of the dreamer.

As I assumed this role, I re-told the dream using what I call the simple dream theme. Basically, this statement tells what happens in the dream in as few words as possible. Short, sweet, and to the point.

This was the theme that immediately came to mind: I (as the car) am in a place I don’t like (the first parking space), and I move on to find something better (the second space). Short, sweet, to the point, right? And it was this that led to the next part, which produced an instant a-ha moment.

Remember, in my last post when I mentioned the practical application part of dream interpretation? This is a technique that can help pinpoint the area of your waking life the dream is commenting on. I asked myself, “Where in my life am I in a place I don’t like, and want to move on to find  a better place?” The answer was instant: work.

Now, when I say work, I don’t mean this work, the work of HIMM. I mean work, as in a job. There is a difference. I have worked in another service industry for most of my adult life. This job has given me a lot of difficult challenges over the past couple of years, and lately (especially since earning my BA in Psychology–with a minor in Human Resource Management) I have been feeling the itch to move on, to see what else is out there in the world for me to do, in terms of a job. This fragment is spot on as I don’t like where I’m at now. The dream is also right as it takes place at night. Night symbolizes being “in the dark” about something. It can also indicate fear, uncertainty, and negativity. I chose uncertainty, as I haven’t fully made up my mind to leave or to stay, at least consciously. On an unconscious level, I have, because a better spot is found at the end of the fragment.  When I (as the car) “back out,” the action here simply tells me I need to get out of the place I am in, that it no longer seems like the right place for me.

On a psychological note, the dream is telling me that when I don’t like the spot I’m in, I “automatically” (the car had AT, as I don’t like driving a stick-shift) want to get out. We, as people, are “driven” during difficulties and challenges, to choose one of two responses: fight or flight. Having the car “back out” (which has to be put in reverse to do) is suggesting this flight response is an approach that stems from my past.

So, I have begun the process of “looking for something better” in this area of my life. I will keep you all updated on the progression, as things develop.

Until my next post, here’s to hoping you are discovering the areas of your lives your dreams want to “discuss” with you.

Love and light,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, Lenormand, and Angel cards), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in the HIMM Dream Journal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

