Dreaming of the Tarot

Hello, Everyone!

It’s been a little while since my last post. I was on a little bit of a sabbatical, and now I’m back!

During that time away, I had quite a few dreams in which the Tarot appeared.

For those of you who may not be aware, I’m a professional Tarot consultant. I’ve been reading the cards for a decade now. But what a lot of people don’t know is that I became a Tarot reader as a result of a dream I had.

In the dream, I was conducting a reading using playing cards, as I had never seen or heard of a Tarot card before. I was reading for myself, and I was seated at a table with the cards spread on the table before me. I was taking notes, and trying to make sense of it all. It was challenging, but I was determined to stick with it.

I awoke from the dream not knowing what to make of it. I looked up the symbol of playing cards in a dream dictionary I had at the time, as I was just starting out on studying my dreams more in-depth, and was using this dictionary as a reference and resource.

In it, it stated that playing cards are the direct descendant to Tarot cards.

Six months later, I purchased my first deck (this was back in 1999). I have had a love affair with the Tarot ever since.

I initially started out, as in my dream, reading the cards for myself, as a tool for self-discovery. When people found out I was reading the cards, they would ask for readings. I then began reading for others, just to get a sense of what it was like to do readings publicly. It was great practice.

Then a person asked me one day, “What do you charge for a reading?” And that was how my professional career was born.

I’ve been posting in this blog my experiences with dreams, but it’s my ability to read the Tarot that most people seek me out.

Over the years, I’ve had a lot of dreams that have helped to deepen my relationship with the Tarot. I learned meanings for the cards, as well as ways to read with them using types of layouts and spreads, in dreams.

So, I found it interesting that the Tarot would show up in my dreams repeatedly over this short period of time.

As many of you know, I always like to interpret dreams with a practical application approach, meaning the dream is instructing me to do something with the information it is providing.

So, I thought, as I’ve done with dreams in this blog, I would show you how I use and read the Tarot. As with the dreams, I will be using a column-type format. I’ll be calling it the HIMM Tarot Reader, just as I have the HIMM Dream Journal, when I want to talk about a dream on this blog.

When I started my initial company, Dreams and Visions, I had a column called the Tarot Advisory, where people would send in questions, which I would answer using the Tarot. It was quite fun, and I think I will carry on that tradition here.

Stay tuned, as my next post on this blog will be the first HIMM Tarot Reader entry!

Love and light,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, playing cards, and Lenormand), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

