the HIMM Dream Journal: the Christmas Tree

Hello, Everyone!

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas! And in keeping with the theme of the holiday, I want to share the most recent dream I had (just this morning, actually, at 12:38 AM!).

First, a bit of back story…. Besides working for myself as a business person, I also work in another industry. In the job at the company I work for, there has been a lot of internal happenings beyond my control that have played a direct part in how I have chosen to perform my tasks. I chose to work a lot more hours, to make certain the department I work in continued to operate despite the internal situations that took place. Add to this, my going to college to obtain my BA in Psychology (which I received in May of this year), as well as my return to obtain my MA in Psychology, specializing in Health and Wellness (which I am doing now). All of this resulted in my diagnosing myself with a case of burnout (which I can, as an emerging psychologist). Burnout is described as fatigue, in the form of lethargy, due to expended and depleted energy, in a particular area of life. Burnout is usually ascribed to work, which is the case with me. Besides putting in long hours at work, one can also experience the sense of not having enough time to complete work tasks, even though the individual is putting in more time on the job. There are also the negative feelings of no longer performing up to expectations at work, as well as a lack of motivation. All of this was what I was experiencing.

I went to bed Christmas night, asking Spirit to give me some guidance as to what to do about this state of dis-ease I have placed myself in. I was already reading up on it, and began a regimen of herbal supplements to combat the symptoms of the burnout. And from a psychological perspective, I began asking myself questions pertaining to what I was possibly getting out of doing this to myself. I was treating myself as my own client. I wanted to also give myself Reiki to the body areas that hold fatigue.

As I said earlier, I awoke at 12:38 AM, recalling the following dream:

I am decorating a Christmas tree. It is a floor tree, going up to the ceiling in the room. It is a green tree, decorated with lights and silver trim and ornaments. Then, someone hands me gold ornaments, all spherical in shape. I begin to put the ornaments on the tree, starting from the bottom of the tree, working my way up.

I knew instantly this was a spiritual dream in nature, due to the symbol of the Christmas tree. Christmas is about the birth of Christ, and when it is the subject in a dream, it can be about the dreamer’s birth. Dreams about birth also tell the dreamer about his or her spiritual nature, and the spiritual gifts (just like we receive gifts at Christmas!) we come into the world with.

In my dream, there are lights and silver decorations already on the tree. These symbolize a psychic or intuitive ability. This is an ability that works through feelings. It is no accident that these symbols are on a green tree. Green is a color that is associated with the heart chakra, as well as being connected to the heart and circulatory system. The heart is our emotional center, the place of our feelings and emotions.This part of the dream is establishing this aspect of myself.

The next part of the dream is the part that I knew was important. I am being handed gold ornaments. Being handed something is another way of saying “I am being given something.” Given can imply a gift. Just as the color silver is tied to a spiritual gift/ability, so is gold. Gold is the color that represents spiritual healing. The phrase “being handed something” compounds this as hands, associated with a healing gift, indicate the dreamer is a hands-on healer. This is a direct reference to my being a Reiki practitioner, as it is a modality that is applied hands-on. Also the order in which the decorations are placed on the tree bear some signifigance.  The lights and silver are on the tree first, followed by the gold ornaments; this means that the psychic/intuitive gifts work first and are the primary, followed by the more recent addition of the healing ability (in waking life, I established myself as an intuitive first, then became a healer during the year of 2009), and are to be used in that order.

Here’s the part about gold that I found most helpful, with regard to the dream: gold, in a dream, can also mean healing for your current illness (or, as I like to say dis-ease). Knowing this, I knew that Reiki was the way to go with treating my case of burnout.

I also realized something else. It was important about how the ornaments were being put on the tree. In the dream, I am working my way up. Reiki energy is said to either come down into the crown and out of the hands of the person channelling it, or come up from the ground, into the person, and out of the hands. The dream is telling me the way the Reiki  works, in my case, is the second way.

So, there you have it. Another dream interpreted, with practical application to the life of the dreamer (me).

I hope you found the following helpful in working with your own dreams. I look forward to receiving your comments about the dream. I will keep you all posted in how I go about my process of restoration from this dis-ease of burnout.

In my next post, I want to share the Tarot reading I conducted about the burnout.

Until then…love and light,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, playing cards, and Lenormand), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in the HIMM Dream Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

