James Himm Mitchell: Ghost Whisperer or Ghostbuster?

Today, I had an interesting call come into my office. The caller, a woman, was referred to me by my minister. She was calling because she and her husband had been seeing and hearing spirits in their home the past couple of days, and she was seeking guidance on how to best handle the situation, as she did not want them “visiting” and “hanging around.”

Wait a minute, some of you might be thinking, you can actually see and hear spirits? Well, yes and no; it depends on the situation, as each is different.

The first time I actually saw one was when I moved into my apartment, shortly after moving from New Jersey to South Carolina; it was 1995. This spirit appeared in my bedroom; it was in the corner of the room, wearing a hooded robe. I could not make out its face, but felt that it was male, somehow. It spoke to me in my mind, letting me know that it was there to watch over me and protect me. Now most people, I’m sure, would have ran for the hills, screaming, but I was strangely calm by the whole thing; I was not afraid in the least. It disappeared shortly after our “conversation,” and I never saw it again.

I have never seen spirits like that since; however, I have seen angels. While in my beginning stages of my Reiki experience (I was not a practitioner at this point, but a recipient of Reiki, as I was attending a Reiki clinic for treatment), angels would come in and say hello, give me their names, and go out. I would remember the name, and later do some research to discover that an angel with that name was documented to exist. Prior to that, I had a dream about angels, and in the dream they appeared as long beams of light, not the popularized images of people with wings that we have come to know them as being (although that’s how they came to me during my Reiki sessions).

Other times during Reiki, I would feel the presence of what I thought were multiple practitioners working on me. When I would open my eyes at the end of the sessions, there was only one practitioner present; I realized there were helpers in Spirit assisting the practitioner. There was one time, at the end of the session, I could still feel a spirit holding my hand. Again, this did not freak me out in any way.

I mention this because that is how I now sense spirits: I feel them. There is this delightful tingling sensation I get around the crown of my head and across my temples when a spirit is close to me. This “signal” developed when I became a certified Level 1 Akashic Records Consultant (I may explain what the Akashic Records are at a later time, in another post). It was my trigger when I accessed my Records, so I would know they were open. What started happening was that I would experience the trigger when I wasn’t doing anything with my Records. The first time it happened, I was in a bookstore looking at books. It would also start happening when I was conducting Tarot readings. The signal became my way of knowing what I was telling the client was accurate information. When I asked my Akashic Records teacher about this phenomena, she said that I was sensitive to the Spirit World, and the spirits were reaching out to me.

In the past, two clients had called experiencing spirits in their homes, and wanted to know if I would come out and see what I could sense. This was an interesting prospect both times, as I had never considered myself a “ghostbuster,” or marketed my services in such a way to make clients think so. I decided to go with it, and see what would be the end result.

In both instances, the homeowners were older women. Both were very religious. And both were very disturbed by this paranormal activity in their homes. I arrived at their homes. I would walk around the homes, having them explain to me the nature of the activity taking place in certain parts of the home. It was during the walk-through that I could actually feel the energy of the spirits in certain rooms. I would give the women intuitive information that they could validate, in terms of activity they had not already mentioned to me.

I then would give them things to do to help the spirits leave their homes. I suggested they get sage and “smudge” their homes; this means lighting the sage like incense and walking through the house, letting the smoke waft through the rooms. I also suggested the women take sea salt and line it around the outside of the home; this practice is said to create a barrier that keeps unwanted spirits out of a home. I also gave both women scripture to read and meditate on that I thought would be helpful to them. The most important thing I requested they do was to simply ask the spirits to leave.

This brings me back to the woman who called today. I told her to do the smudging; she said she would. She told me she was reciting scripture; I suggested she continue to do so. She informed me that she was going to contact a man from the Paranormal Society in Columbia (upstate South Carolina), as he could come to get the spirits out of her house. I suggested, in the meantime, she ask the spirits to leave. She thought they attached themselves to her somehow. I suggested that the spirits might not realize they have passed on, and that she should tell them they need to move on to the Spirit World; she said she would try that.

She said she would let me know how things turn out, once the man from the Paranormal Society comes and does his thing. I, for one, will be looking forward to hearing how it gets resolved. And I think I will be getting in touch with the Paranormal Society myself, as I didn’t even know they existed. It would be interesting to see what they do and how they work. Perhaps there’s a spot open for a dream interpreting-Tarot card reading-Reiki healing-intuitive?

Love and light,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, Lenormand, and Angel cards), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

