My Light-Bulb Moment: Food for Thought

Just wanted to share an a-ha moment I had. It came to me as a result of the latest entry of the HIMM Dream Journal, “the Girl and Her Plate of Mashed Potatoes.”

I was leaving a get-together earlier this afternoon, that consisted of a small group of intuitive friends. As I was driving home, the thought came to me (it’s interesting how driving prompts these moments–and yes, I was still paying attention to the road! ).

I have worked with food most of my adult life. The dream, having food in it, I have come to interpret as “food for thought.” Now, working as an intuitive psychologist, I still work with food. Just as the food I worked with in my former career fed the body, the work I do now feeds the mind and the spirit.

I used to be conflicted about this, about how I could have such divergent careers, one that I never really loved to one I love so much. With regard to vocational psychology, there’s the theory that there’s a common thread, or denominator, that connects all the various jobs we have during the course of our lives. I could never make the connection…until today.  The careers have taken on a more holistic perspective, in that holism is all about working with the body, the mind, and the spirit. It’s like the insight of my working life has brought me full circle. I now understand the people who wake up everyday excited about their work, because now I am one of them.

My thanks to the reader who submitted the dream that prompted this process, as well as Spirit, who continues to feed me.

Love and light,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, playing cards, and Lenormand), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Light-Bulb Moment: Food for Thought

  1. jahsun says:

    wonderful!
    i especially enjoyed the part about all of our vocations being linked together.
    makes sense!

    • James Himm says:

      JahSun,
      Thank you for the response.
      It has been a theory of mine for some time before it was validated in my brief experience with vocational psychology. Every job we hold, no matter the duration, teaches us skills that we will use in the next job. Since there are no accidents in the Universe, every job, no matter how challenging, serves its purpose.
      It is especially gratifying when we can get a glimpse of the common thread that weaves through each one. That becomes the theme.
      Thanks for reading. I hope you continue to enjoy what comes.
      Love and light,
      James

Leave a Reply

