the HIMM Tarot Reader: the Card of the Week

Hello, everyone! Welcome to the first blog entry of “life of HIMM” for 2012!

I wanted to start the new year off doing something new with the blog. I noticed last year that a lot of the blog entries featured the popular column “the HIMM Dream Journal,” which is not unusual to me, as dreams are the foundation, the bedrock, of everything I have done in my metaphysical career. Everything I have sought to do and accomplish has been preceded by a dream. So, dreams have a special place in my heart, and it seems the majority of readers really like the entries and the interpretations.

In my practice, though, the Tarot seems to hold the most fascination. I have more clients requesting readings than anything else. And I love consulting the cards. So, I thought it would be a great idea to showcase more of my work with the cards. One way to accomplish this would be to spotlight a card a week in the column, “the HIMM Tarot Reader.”

The premise of the card of the week is that I will pull a card at the beginning of the week, with the question “What does the Tarot wish to share with us for the column this week?” This also allows people new to Tarot and those inspired to read the cards to see how the cards work with a reader.

So, with the question stated, this week I drew the Sun card, using the Tell Me Tarot Deck (the copy I have is titled Do It Yourself Tarot, and was later changed). It was created in Israel by astrologer and Tarot consultant Arik Eyal, and drawn by Nir Cassuto, first published in 2004 (my copy), then again in 2008, by U. S. Games. What makes this deck good for beginners is that the meanings of the cards are written at the bottom of the card. With that, this is what is on the Sun card:

The Sun-Success (+): Guaranteed joy, self-fulfillment, good health & vitality. You will receive help from external sources.

The Sun card is a Major Arcana card, and this Arcana (there is the Major and the Minor in a Tarot deck) carries more weight when these cards appear in a reading. The Majors (or Trumps, as they are also known as) indicate something major is coming into play, something that may be of a spiritual or psychological nature. There is an important life lesson or principle in the situation being consulted about.

For me, this card is the best card in the Major Arcana, and perhaps in the entire deck. It can mean clarification, a time of happiness, satisfaction, personal freedom, and achievement. This card can represent children (there are children on the card), or people who are bright (intelligent), as well as a “bright idea.” This card can also be an indicator of money coming to the seeker (but I like to have other cards confirm this).

So, the Tarot, with this card, seems to want to share the messages to look on the bright side of things this week; be open to becoming clear in moments of confusion; be open to receiving help from those external sources mentioned on the card; and, as the song went on “the Partridge Family,” C’mon…get happy!

Here are some affirmations (positive statements, in the present tense) to ponder this week, related to the Sun card:

  • I look for the good in my circumstances, despite how they appear at this moment.
  • I am in the process of becoming clear about the situations in my life.
  • I am open and receptive to all forms of help that come my way.
  • I am healthy, wealthy, and happy.
  • Life is good to me.

If you enjoyed viewing the Sun card from the Tell Me Tarot, you can gain more information about the deck for purchase at amazon.com.

I’ll be back next week with another card of the week!

Peace and light (Get it? Light!),

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, Lenormand, and Angel cards), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Tarot Card of the Week, the HIMM Tarot Reader and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the HIMM Tarot Reader: the Card of the Week

  1. MJ says:

    Oh my. This card is not one that I want to see before my coffee. Now I just want to hurt something. However, I am t-h-r-i-l-l-e-d that you are doing this! Keep on keeping on James!

    • James Himm says:

      MJ,
      I know this is not one of your favorite cards; we always joke about that! But, since it is such a positive card, I’m kind of glad to see it show up as the first card of the week.
      I hope you have had your coffee by now, and that the urge to hurt something has passed. 🙂
      Thank you for being t-h-r-i-l-l-e-d (I like that!) that I’m doing this. I will keep it up; it was so much fun working on the entry. I hope you continue to check it out.

      Much love to you,
      James

Leave a Reply

