the HIMM Tarot Card Reader: the Card of the Week [2]

Hello, everyone, and welcome to the second installment of the new column for the HIMM Tarot Reader, the Card of the Week!

If you have stopped by for the first time, a brief recap is in order. For the new year, I decided I wanted a regular Tarot column for this blog. “life of HIMM” focuses on my life with dreams, Tarot, and Reiki, both as a practitioner for my business (as an intuitive coach and life lesson consultant) and my personal life. Over the life of this blog, a lot of the interest has been on my life with dreams and the column, the HIMM Dream Journal. Dreams have been the foundation of my metaphysical career; dreams have been the “matchmaker” in my life, introducing me to the Tarot, and making us an inseparable pair. And I wanted that to be reflected in my blog more, which resulted in this column.

My intention for The Card of the Week is that it serve as a resource for people beginning a relationship with the Tarot, as well as for those who just have an appreciation and enthusiasm for the Tarot, wanting to understand the process an intuitive uses to read the cards (I explain to clients that every Tarot reader approaches and reads the cards differently, and explain my process).

For the question posed to the Tarot, I am asking this one: “What does the Tarot wish to share with us for the column this week?”

Tell-Me Tarot, published by U. S. Games, 2008

Using The Tell-Me Tarot Deck, as I did last week, I have drawn the Emperor card. The cards in this deck have the meanings written at the bottom of the cards, which can be useful to a beginner Tarot consultant. This is what is on the Emperor card:

The Emperor – Determination (+): You achieve status and long-term stable accomplishments. Follow all the rules.

 

The Emperor, like the Sun card in last week’s column, is a Major Arcana card. The Major Arcana (there are the Majors and the Minors in a Tarot deck) carries more weight when these cards appear in a reading. The Majors (also known as the Trumps) indicate something major is coming into play, something that may be of a spiritual or psychological nature. There is an important life lesson or principle in the situation being consulted about.

One of the lessons with this card relates to power. It can mean the power of structures and institutions, but it also is about the power of the individual. When it appears, it might be asking you to consider how you are using your own personal power in your life. Are you lording over others, acting out on a power trip? This would indicate an abuse of power. Or, are you in a position (in most decks, the Emperor is seated on a throne, which for me implies status and position) in which you are giving your power away to others? In this case, there is still the abuse of power; the message here is the wise use of power.

And how about those people in positions of power? This card can be about them: presidents, world leaders, heads of state, CEOs, power brokers, managers, supervisors…the people who make the rules that others have to follow. All the things mentioned about power before relate to these people as well.

Over the course of time, in my life and my relationship to the Tarot, I have developed my own interpretations of the cards, based on my experiences. One of them involves Dr. Phil, the talk show host. I remember he said once that “we are our own life’s managers,” and if we don’t like the life we are living, we need to take the responsibility (another aspect of the card) for it, and make the necessary changes. So, in the business sense, we have managers, but we also have managers in the personal sense.

In Christian theology, this card can be representative of God, the Father. Connecting last week’s card to this one: If the Emperor is God, the Father, the Sun is the Son of God, which is Jesus, the Christ. And while God may be the Ultimate in authority figures, this card can be representative of fathers, the patriarchs (heads) of families (the first company or corporation, if you will).

Most recently, I have had this card reference my journey to self-employment. While I was a manager during my working life, I am now my own boss, and having more control over my life. So this card could mean working for someone else in a managerial position, or being the boss of your own business.

In my business as a coach, one of the joys I have is partnering with people who want to become empowered in their lives. So, the last aspect of the Emperor card I want to share is that it is about the process of empowerment.

So, the Tarot, this week, with the Emperor card, wants us to consider the ways we use our power, and that the only people we have control over is ourselves.

Just as I did last week, I offer these affirmations for your consideration this week:

  • I use my power wisely.
  • I am in the process of having more control of my life.
  • I manage all my affairs easily.
  • I am the best authority on the subject of me.
  • I am in the process of regaining/reclaiming my personal power.
  • I am in the process of starting my own business.
  • I am the Boss of Me, Inc.
  • I am in the process of becoming more empowered every day and in every way.
  • I have decided to accept responsibility for my life.
  • I live a life of order.
  • I am in the process of becoming more disciplined.

If you enjoyed viewing the Emperor card from the Tell Me Tarot, you can gain more information about the deck at amazon.com.

See you next week with another card of the week!

From one powerful being to another,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, Lenormand, and Angel cards), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Tarot Card of the Week, the HIMM Tarot Reader and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the HIMM Tarot Card Reader: the Card of the Week [2]

  1. MJ says:

    This is such a difficult card to read sometimes. You did a great job explaining the different paths The Emperor can take. Very good job James!

    • James Himm says:

      MJ,
      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I like to offer the various ways a card can be interpreted, depending on the question asked and the situation being examined. Not only that, I want to offer how your life can further add meanings to the cards that go beyond the traditional and standard texts we as readers gravitate to.
      Thanks for the compliment; I take that as high praise coming from a seasoned reader like yourself! I hope you continue to enjoy the column!

      Love and light,
      James

Leave a Reply

