Making a Case for Leaving Your Cards Out

You may know this, if you’ve participated in one of my workshops, taken one of my classes, or attended one of my talks, because it’s something I share with people beginning their Tarot journeys all the time: the importance of working with the cards daily.

One of the ways I encourage this is for people to pull cards (at least one, and no more than 3) at the beginning of the day, record their initial thoughts of the cards (in some type of journal), and then go about the rest of the day, and do a review of the cards at the end, to see if any life experiences were reflected in the cards.

I also encourage leaving the cards out where they may be seen throughout the day, creating what’s known as “top of mind awareness.”

And this is no different for me. I have done it consistently throughout my 17 years of living with the cards. It’s especially important now that I have also taken up studying the Lenormand, because learning to read the Lenormand is very different than learning to read Tarot.

Today was a perfect example to illustrate why I think it’s important to leave your daily cards out.

This morning, I drew the combination of Tower + Bear + Bouquet from the Lenormand. After recording my initial impression in my journal, I left the cards out on the table and went about my day.

My Daily Draw, from the Dondorf Lenormand: Mountain, Bear, and Bouquet.

My Daily Draw, from the Dondorf Lenormand: Mountain, Bear, and Bouquet.

In the afternoon, I felt like I wanted to do a Lenormand reading, using another deck, about my progress with the cards, like a progress report a student gets from a teacher.

Leaving the cards out on the table from my daily draw helped to make a connection, based on an experience in the moment. Cards are from the Dondorf (top) and the Malpertuis Lenormands.

Leaving the cards out on the table from my daily draw helped to make a connection, based on an experience in the moment. Cards are from the Dondorf (top) and the Malpertuis Lenormands.

With the cards for that reading on the table, along with the previous three, I started to record my thoughts. Suddenly, I began having a sneezing fit. There was a major rainstorm in my area throughout the day yesterday, so I chalked up the sneezing to be a signal that my allergies were flaring up due to Mother Nature and her activity.

So, I’m sneezing and looking at those three cards. Mountain. Bear. Bouquet. They’re getting my attention.

Suddenly, I see the line so clearly: A delay (Mountain) caused by a strong (Bear) allergic reaction (Bouquet).

Sneezing got me to see Bouquet as flowers, and then as pollen. But I might have missed it if I had just tucked the cards away, out of sight.

So, if you’ve worked with me in one of the ways I mentioned above in the past, I offer this as a way for you to learn from my experience.

If you haven’t, then I offer this for your consideration to incorporate into your daily work and study of the cards, whether they’re Tarot, Lenormand, playing cards, or Oracle cards. You will find ways to relate to your cards that you might not otherwise if they’re kept out of sight.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go and write in my journal how Bouquet can mean allergies (allergic to pollen)…

my signature

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, Lenormand, and Angel cards), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Insights, the HIMM Oracle Reader and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

