The Trouble with Snakes

Yesterday, I received a phone call in my office, as I awaited the arrival of a client for a Tarot consult. The caller was someone who knows of my interest in dreams and uncovering what dreams means. He called me with a dream that involves a symbol that I’ve been hearing a lot about recently. His dream had snakes in them.

I always start the process by asking the dreamer, “When you think of a snake, what comes to mind?” The question allows the dreamer to free associate with the symbol, which then can become the dreamer’s personal interpretation of that symbol (in this case, it would be a snake). He didn’t readily have an answer, which was fine. It made me stop and consider what my own answer would be. I haven’t, as of yet, been able to recall a single dream, in all my years of recall and personal dream work, that had a snake in it. In waking life, I’ve never been faced with a snake suddenly appearing in an area it shouldn’t be; I’ve never had a snake for a pet; I’ve never handled a snake; and, I’ve never been attacked and bitten by a snake.

So, I went with the next best method: Rule number one of dream interpretation. If you’ve been reading this blog over time, you will know that rule number one is that every aspect of the dream is a representation of the dreamer. Going with this, I made a suggestion to my caller. I suggested he role-play with the symbol in the dream; instead of being himself in the dream, he is now the snake.

I made this same suggestion to a woman who approached me a couple of weeks ago with her snake dream. I told her to “assume the role of the snake and tell the dream again from the perspective of the snake, because you are the snake.” She looked at me intrigued. She said she would do it. I’m still waiting to hear from her to see if the technique was helpful.

I know the technique works, from my own personal use. The role-playing is designed to get the dreamer to see things in a different way, and can be a tool that further adds insight into a dream’s overall meaning. I once had a dream that I was on one side of a street, in an open area. On the other side of the street were some young men kicking around a ball. The ball got kicked over to my side of the street, and I had to kick the ball back over to them. When I was doing my dream work, I had an intuitive prompting to assume the role of the ball, which prompted the question: Where in my life does it appear that I am being kicked around? Instant light bulb moment! I knew the area of life the dream was talking about (it was my job at the time). I found that process to be so insightful and useful, I have used it since, especially with symbols in which an interpretation does not readily become apparent.

We didn’t get to finish the process completely, as my client had arrived by this point. So I left him with that to do for “homework.” He said he’d get back to me with any insights he might gain from using the technique.

I am suggesting that you use the technique of role-playing in a dream the next time  you are faced with a symbol that you can’t readily interpret–especially if it is a snake.

Love and light,

James

About James Himm

James Himm Mitchell, the Dreamer and Visionary of LifePlan Coaching & Consulting, LLC, works as an intuitive life coach, with a focus on personal growth and development. His specialties are Dream Decoding, Oracles (Tarot, Lenormand, and Angel cards), and Energy Medicine (Reiki), and he uses those modalities coaching individuals to create the tools and develop the strategies that transform their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

